>Road Trip April 2010 – the prep stages

>

                The preparation for the road trip #1 has officially begun.  The car is at the mechanic having its checkup and front brakes done.  I love my mechanic because they take great care of the car and because they have loaner cars or will even pick me up or drive me home.  I am currently driving the itty bitty loaner (compared to my full size SUV) and I am missing my big vehicle.  Yes, I may be compensating for something but I love my car.  I dropped the car off yesterday morning and got a call from the mechanic today with the estimate for the brakes and the run-down of some other work that needs to be done.  He was pretty surprised and happy that I brought it in several weeks before the trip is planned to begin.  Apparently most people wait until just a few days before departure to have their car examined.  We figured the car needed the work done anyway and the sooner the better.  It’s one less thing to worry about. 
                We found a couple of great websites for road trips in general and a ton of more specific ones.  The first site, http://www.roadsideamerica.com/, has many wonderful stories about roadside locations all across America.  It was instrumental in planning our itinerary.  There is also http://www.roadtripusa.com/index.html which has some great routes planned out for you if you have the time but it is also a great resource for some of the more interesting things to see in this great country of ours.  Originally, we had considered travelling at least part of old Route 66 but that trip has morphed into something else.  But there are still a number of really good websites for Route 66 specifically.  Some examples of those are: http://www.legendsofamerica.com/66-Mainpage.html and http://www.historic66.com/.  A search using your favorite search engine will yield much more.  We also found sites for the specific states and cities that we will be passing through were very useful for information about attractions in the area.
                We still have a lot of items on our To Do list that need to be completed including arranging for boarding for our canine family member (probably the local vet which has boarding services as well).  But more of that will follow the completion of car repairs since that will leave us in a better position to know what we have to spend for the rest.  We have a solid plan that should play out nicely in practice as well.  More to come.  
