Where Has Time Gone?

It seems that I haven’t posted anything in quite a long while.  Let’s see if I can remedy that.  I’m going to try posting more regularly even though the posts are likely to be pretty random.  But then, what do you expect from a halfing?  (Even one that’s clearly overgrown.)  Anywho, I think I’ll just randomly talk about life in general, stuff I’ve observed and whatever other randomness comes to mind.

So, I was poking around Amazon.com looking up the authors I like and came across a real gem for a great price.  Acorna by Anne McCaffrey is available right now for just $0.99.  It’s usually $7.99 so it’s a great deal for the first in the series.  I just downloaded it last night and I can’t wait to read it.  You can get your own copy here.

I just finished reading the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy.  It was a loaner in paperback.  There was so much talk around the novel for a while that I was very curious.  I’m no stranger to romance novels so I wasn’t shocked by any of the more explicit scenes in the books.  I was pleasantly surprised by the characters and story.  Christian Grey is a very troubled man with a difficult past who doesn’t know how to relate to people on a personal level.  Then he meets Anastasia Steele, a young woman just finishing at university and very inexperienced when it comes to relationships.  The books are mainly in a first person present point of view as told by Anastasia.  I felt that E.L. James did a great job of maintaining that.  I liked Ana’s inner self’s and their reactions to events.  There were some times where I wanted to shout at her or slap her for being ridiculous, stupid, or unthinking but then I remembered that she’s a 21 year old girl with no worldly experience.  Her reactions are believable in that respect.  All in all I would say I enjoyed the books.  At times I didn’t want to put them down to find out what would happen to the characters.  While I don’t see myself reading them a second time, it was entertaining to read all three.  So, if you’re comfortable with very strong sexual content and a bit of violence I suggest at least taking a peek into the first book.

There’s an interesting and rare phenomenon visible in the sky at night.  According to Space.com, it’s only over the next couple of weeks.  It’s a glowy space dust called the Zodiacal Light that’s visible to the naked eye.  If  you like looking at the night sky, check out the story here.  For those of you in rural areas like me, it’ll be easy than for those in the city.

That’s it for now.  Maybe I’ll be back again this weekend.  We shall see.  Off to spend time with friends and play some Dungeons & Dragons (pencil and paper, not a video game).  See ya!

