Games Post: Hoping to Beta

Happy Thursday!  Many of you are reaching the end of your work weeks.  For me, it’s today!  I’m lucky enough to have an amazing shift with four ten hour days.  I can tell you that it’s great to have three days off especially when it’s Friday through Sunday.  Since the week is nearing the end, I’m looking forward to all of my weekend activities.  I’ll definitely spend some time in World of Warcraft and I hope to get some miniature painting done.  And there’s the weekly Dungeons & Dragons game on Saturday.

I do want to welcome you to the first games post.  I plan to talk about games that I’m playing, good resources for those games, and even some mobile apps or other technology.  But primarily games!  Even grown ups have to have some fun.

If you’re a World of Warcraft player then you know that there are so many things to do, especially daily quests, that it can be overwhelming.  I’m happy to say that my main (a blood elf rogue) has finally completed most of the reputations.  Hooray!  For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about, my apologies.  You’ll find I spend a fair amount of time in WoW so you’ll definitely be hearing about it a bit.  I’ll try to keep it to a minimum though.

I’m not so completely involved in WoW that I don’t notice other games though.  We actually started with other games.  As far as MMORPGs, I played Ultima Online very briefly and City of Heroes quite a lot. Sadly, City of Heroes is gone now but I’m looking forward to future games.  I have set up a Champions Online account but haven’t played it at all yet.  My husband has and it looks pretty good.  It’s free to play which means you don’t have to spend anything to get started but you can spend money later if you choose to.  I’ll talk more about this one when I’ve played a bit myself.  I have also downloaded the new game Age of Wushu and started playing.  I haven’t spent enough time in it to truly review it yet though so I’ll post a full review at a later time as well.  I could spend a lot of time talking about all of the games I have played.  I’m sure we’ll touch on them all eventually!

It’s a great time to be a gamer.  Free to Play is the new model for most new MMORPGs (massive multiplayer online role playing games).  This means that you can download and play the game without paying anything!  If you aren’t already familiar with this you might wonder how the developer makes money on all this.  There are a lot of things you can buy for the game and perks if you subscribe.  Usually free accounts have certain limited features.  It varies from game to game so definitely read the details on their website.  I’m following several games that have yet to come out and I’m really hoping to get in on their beta tests.

I’ve already applied for beta testing for Blizzard’s upcoming game, Hearthstone, a game called Wildstar from NC Soft, and another one called Dragon’s Prophet.  For my readers unfamiliar with beta testing, it’s the phase of testing where the game is nearly ready for launch but the developer wants to get a bunch of players in there actively playing it.  They can stress test the servers and players can report bugs that they find while they play.  It’s very important to the game and it’s a lot of fun too.  For closed beta testing, you may have to agree to not disclose anything.  So if I get in I’ll have to stay quiet about any details.  I do like being able to play the game early and the idea that I can contribute in even a small way.  I’ve done beta’s in the past for the WoW Mists of Pandaria expansion and for Star Wars the Old Republic.  And, now that the overtime at work has wound down, I’ll have more time on my hands.  Wish me luck!  I would really like to check out these games in person.

Thank you for reading my musings!  If you have any comments or questions, please post them below.  I’ll reply as soon as possible, likely the same day.  If you feel so inclined, please click follow or use the follow by email option.  As of this posting, it’s located on the right-hand side if you’re viewing the full web version.  Have a great day and don’t forget to laugh!

