More Magicians

Good morning!  I hope this Tuesday morning finds you all well.  Being Tuesday I know you expect a post about books.  I’ll apologize up front for what will be a shorter than normal post.  As I write this, it’s actually Monday night and the day has gifted me with a headache.  For those of you who might call or chat with a customer service call center today, please be kind to the representative.  But, I do want to talk about what I’m reading.

I’m about a third of the way through book three of The Black Magician Trilogy by Trudi Canavan.  Book three is titled The High Lord and I’m having a hard time putting it down.  In fact I can’t wait to go read a bit more before bed tonight.  I’m looking forward to seeing what happens next and starting to feel that little sadness that comes on as you know that the story will have to end.  But it’s been a fun ride!  The story has taken a turn that I’m quite pleased with.  I don’t want to give away anything so I won’t talk about the story in much detail.  We do see the characters carried through from the previous books.  I’m happy with the development of Sonea and her friend Cery.  The settings are impressive too.  I enjoy the description of the buildings and environment.  It’s just enough and isn’t intrusive.  Frequently the descriptions are tied in with the observations of the characters.

As soon as I finish The High Lord, I’ll be purchasing the third book in The Song of Ice and Fire series.  I can’t wait to see the author’s original vision for what has become season three of Game of Thrones.  It’s $9.99 for Kindle which is more than the paperback which annoys me greatly.  I have been hoping the price would decrease but I imagine it will stay the same until well after this season of the show has finished airing.  We’ll see if my patience holds out but I think I’ll be buying it shortly.

On a tangent, Iron Man 3 comes out this weekend.  I’m planning to see it at the drive in in West Chicago, IL.  That should be fun.  And I have a week of vacation planned for next week.  I’m really looking forward to that.  It’s a staycation and I’m hoping to accomplish some things but we’ll see!

I hope you all have a great day!  Face the morning with optimism.  It’s going to be a wonderful day.  Smile at a coworker and maybe you can brighten their day too!  I’ll be in the cubicle jungle all day myself and plan to make the best of it.

