Mother’s Day and My Mom

It’s been a lovely week!  I had the week off from work and spent time relaxing, playing World of Warcraft and Neverwinter Nights Online as well as spring cleaning and I even managed to replace a lost book.  I’m back to work on Monday and, although my job frustrates me at times, I am thankful to have work.  I know more than one person that are unemployed right now and I pray that the right job will be found by each of them very soon.

Tomorrow is Mother’s Day.  My sisters and I had originally planned to take our mother out today or tomorrow but various things have caused those plans to be canceled.  We’re planning for next week instead.  It isn’t the date that’s important, it’s being with family.  My mother is dear to me and I know that I never express to her just how much important she is.

My mom is the one who introduced me to two of my favorite things, fantasy and reading.  She gave me the gift of books and learning to ready early and well.  I’m grateful for that escape which is more complete than any television program or movie could ever be.  Because of this, as children my sister and I acted out elaborate stories with our dolls.  As an adult, this has developed into my love for Dungeons & Dragons which allows me to take on a fantasy character or even orchestrate the entire world as the Game Master.  I would have none of this without first having been introduced to fantasy stories.

I have three sisters.  As the mother of four girls, you can imagine that her life was pure chaos wherever we were involved.  As a child I never realized just how much stress we must have caused.  I remember one time when one of my sisters and I hid in our closet by hanging from the bar behind the clothes.  We didn’t anticipate making her frantic trying to figure out where we were.  I imagine we gave her a couple of gray hairs that day.  She and my dad also sacrificed a lot for us.  I’m sure Mom had things she wanted to do or see but taking care of us consumed their time and money.  I recognize those sacrifices and I’m grateful for all they did for us.

My relationship with my mom is very important to me.  I can remember coming home from school every day and sitting at the kitchen table eating my afternoon snack (usually a bologna sandwich) while Mom did dishes or something and she listened to me tell her about everything I did that day.  It doesn’t sound like much but it was everything.  I don’t think I’ve ever told her just how precious a memory that is for me.

Mom was always encouraging.  She encouraged me to do anything I really wanted to.  That included playing the flute, planning for college, or not going to college.  I even remember one time, when I was younger, saying that I wanted to have pale blond hair like Crystal Barbie (I’m a brunette).  She said I could when I was older if I wanted to.  And that was it.  There was no fuss.  I never did go blond (I went partially purple once just a few years ago).

I love my mom so much more than I can express in words.  She did so many things for us as children and as adults.  It’s our turn now to be there for her.

Happy Mother’s Day to all of the mothers and all those who fill the role of mothers.  Because sometimes a person can find motherly support in others too.  Don’t forget to call them today or tomorrow and visit them soon.  Don’t wait before time gets away from you.

Finally, the History.com website has a great page about Mother’s Day. It talks about the history of it and has videos too.  Check it out because I found it very interesting.  http://www.history.com/topics/mothers-day

A Music Party by Arthur Hughes
A Music Party by Arthur Hughes
One thought on “Mother’s Day and My Mom

  1. Michelle, This is a beautiful tribute to your Mom! I’m sure you four girls gave your Mom many grey hairs, LOL. Thank you for sharing this with us. 🙂
    Love, Aunt Kathie

Comments are closed.