Do You Know Where Your Towel Is?

Don’t Panic!  If you’re fan of Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and the books that follow it, these words are familiar to you.  Today is Towel Day as well as Nerd Pride Day.  I’ll be celebrating the way I spend most of my Saturdays: video games and Dungeons & Dragons.

For those of you who don’t know, Towel Day is a celebration of the life and writings of Douglas Adams.  He’s most well known for the five books of the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series.  It’s been years since I read them but many parts of these books stick with me.  I remember laughing out loud many times while reading them.  They’re definitely science fiction but very comedic.  With characters like Ford Prefect and Zaphod Beeblebrox you can’t take them seriously.  If you’ve never read these, I recommend borrowing the first from your local library or a friend because you’re sure to want to buy the whole series once you’ve read it.  The movie adaptation was very good as well but I still prefer the books.  If you need a laugh, be sure to pick it up.

Now Nerd or Geek Pride Day is for all of us to celebrate our geek culture.  It’s something we were once ostracized for but can now proudly proclaim.  So, fellow geeks and nerds.  How are you celebrating?  ThinkGeek is giving away loot.  Check it out by clicking here.  And you can pick up some pretty cool stuff while you’re there.

It’s Dungeons and Dragons day here and I’ll be heading out in a little bit to spend some time with friends and role play the night away.  I’m GM (Game Master) tonight and I have fun things planned.  I’m hoping they’ll enjoy a little dungeon crawling.  I managed to get all of my planning done today since I didn’t accomplish any of it yesterday.  The new 5.3 patch to World of Warcraft had me distracted most of the day.  I’m not even sure how we accomplished the grocery shopping!

I would be playing a bit of Dragon’s Prophet this weekend as well but they’ve ended the closed beta.  The game moves into open beta on May 30.  So, if you’re curious, you’ll be able to download it and play for free starting then.  I don’t have any strong feelings at this point since I only played a little bit.  I can say that I liked character creation.  There was a lot of customization.  As a fan of all things fantasy, I will be back in the game on the 30th.

The baby birds in our window sill are getting bigger already.  Their voices have changed and I can tell they are moving around now.  I’m so tempted to try to peek at them but I am worried about baby birds falling into my house.  That would not be good.  So I’m controlling my curiosity (for the moment).

I know I didn’t have a lot to share this week but I didn’t want to go a week without posting.  I couldn’t end a blog post this weekend without mentioning Memorial Day.  A lot of us have a day off from work on Monday because of this national holiday.  In the midst of the barbecues and other events, please take a moment to remember those who lost their lives fighting for our country and our freedoms.  If you want to read even more about the history of the holiday click here to visit the History Channel’s page about the day.  Have a safe holiday weekend!

