Movies, Books, and SHOPPING!

The weather last night was perfect for the drive-in movie theater.  Luckily my husband had thought to check what was playing because it was Kick Ass 2 with Elysium.  Both movies were ones we wanted to see but with money tight we can’t justify going to the theater very often.  So, on the spur of the moment, we decided we’d go.  You can’t beat two movies for $9.00.  Being a Sunday night, the theater wasn’t crowded.  I’m glad we went.  But I’m sure you want to know about the movies.

Kick Ass 2 was definitely the better of the two movies.  They did a great job on this sequel.  Kick Ass and Hit Girl are both back and the movie is filled with action and great new characters.  I almost didn’t recognize Jim Carrey as Colonel Stars and Stripes.  The movie was worth the price of admission.  I don’t want to give away any spoilers but, if you enjoyed the first movie, you’ll definitely want to see this one.  Just don’t bring small children because it is very violent.

Elysium was a bit disappointing.  As a fan of science fiction I found a number of things didn’t make sense.  But the first thing that was frustrating was the captioning.  There are scenes spoken in Spanish and one in French.  The captioning is all white lettering which was nearly impossible to read on the light background of the scenes.  But we were able to make out enough to have a good idea of what was being said.  It might be easier to read in an indoor theater but at the drive-in it was impractical.  The movie seems to want to be a social commentary.  But it was hard to take it seriously as a science fiction movie.  The next paragraph of this review may contains some spoilers.

Elysium is an orbiting space station with full outdoor environments including trees, artificial sun, and houses.  It seems that each household has a medical bed that can repair the body and heal any injury or illness.  But the people that live on Elysium have denied this technology to the people living on the surface of earth which has been ravaged by war and illness.  The people on the surface buy expensive tickets to get on shuttles that will take them to Elysium illegally.  But, here’s the problem.  The space station itself doesn’t have any defense systems.  So, when they want to prevent those shuttles from reaching it, they apparently have to use a person on the planet who fires rockets at those shuttles… Wow.  So they also have the technology for handheld rocket launchers that can hit a shuttle in space.  Now, they have factories on the planet that build humanoid robots.  The robots are used in various capacities apparently including security.  They have these on Elysium but, when the space station is breached near the end of the movie, there is no sign of this security force.

The final verdict on Elysium: wait for the DVD.  There were some great effects, good casting and acting, but a poorly thought out story.  It’s worth seeing but not for the expense of the theater.  Although, I would say, it’s worth the cost as part of a double-feature like at the drive-in.  Just not on its own.

The drive-in is also a great place for people watching.  The side show this time was a very large white van (taller than our Chevy Tahoe) that parked in the row in front of us and off to our left.  The doors opened and one man and four young boys of various ages popped out of it.  I say popped because the boys opened the side door and used it to immediately climb onto the roof.  The smallest of them had a hard time and I was honestly concerned that he was going to end up laying in the gravel.  But the others pulled him up.  We observed them for a while and I was relieved that none of them apparently had any injuries from constantly climbing onto the roof and sliding down.  Since the theater now has a rule against sitting on roofs they did this frequently when security drove by in the golf cart.  It seemed irresponsible to me since it was a needless risk to the boys’ safety.

I also finished reading World of Warcraft: Jaina Proudmoore: Tides of War by Christie Golden.  If you’re a fan of World of Warcraft I definitely recommend reading it.  If you’ve never played the game, you might run into a little trouble with some of the details since the writer assumes a certain level of knowledge of the world of Azeroth.  I’ve played this game for a very long time (since it’s first expansion which was called Burning Crusade) and I learned several things about the lore of the world that I didn’t previously know.  The book takes place during the events after the defeat of Deathwing at the end of the Cataclysm expansion and at the start of the events just before Mists of Pandaria.  I primarily play characters of the Horde faction so I miss a lot of Alliance story so this filled in a lot of gaps.  I’ve always liked Jaina Proudmoore in game and this book really brought her to life.  It also brings the depravity of Garrosh Hellscream more into focus as well as the events that will eventually lead to the upcoming 5.4 patch Siege of Orgrimmar.  Check out the link to see the trailer.  I can’t wait for this!  If you’ve never played WoW but you’re a fan of the fantasy genre, I do recommend checking it out.  You can play a character up to level 20 for free to get a feel for the game.

Lucky for me, World of Warcraft: Arthas: Rise of the Lich King by Christie Golden was a deal of the day today for Kindle at Amazon.com.  I am thrilled to get another of these for just $1.99.  I can’t wait to start it.  I’m already into another book but as soon as I finish, Arthas is next.

Finally, I just watched the movie, The Help on cable.  I can’t believe I haven’t seen it before.  It was a touching story as well as an upsetting one.  I recommend this for anyone to watch.  I’m still amazed at how people were treated in such a way.  I just can’t wrap my mind around how anyone could be so cruel to another human being.  But it’s also amazing to see individuals standing up for what’s right.  I know it’s a fictional tale based on a book (which I’ll be adding to my wish list) but I know that the subject is based in truth.

Oh!  One more thing.  Before I go to bed.  If you shop at Target and have a smartphone (my links are for Android which is my preferred OS), I recommend downloading the Cartwheel app as well as the Target app from the application store.  Cartwheel is a Target app you can use to get discounts at Target.  You can use it along with other coupons (including the ones you can print from their website) and with your Red Card.  They all stack and add up to savings.  I shopped today and found some cute flats on sale.  Yay!

Have a lovely week!

One thought on “Movies, Books, and SHOPPING!

  1. You must read the Help so much better than the movie. If you are into audio books The Help is awesome as an audio book.

Comments are closed.