Can You Tell I Love Books?

If you’ve been following me, you already know that I probably write about books more than any other subject.  Reading has been an escape for me since I was a little kid.  I’ve always been a bit awkward and shy and had a very hard time in school so books were my go to escape.  To this day, when I read a book, I slip into the skin of my favorite character and leave the real world behind for a little while.  It led to my love for role-playing (Dungeons & Dragons for example).  That’s a story for another day though.  This is about books.

My mom gets full credit for getting me started reading and showing me the fantasy genre.  That early love of reading helped me excel in school and compensated for my lack of interest and skill in math.  That carried me all the way through High School.  If you knew me growing up, you’d probably remember that every possible minute was spent with my nose in a book.  I always had one with me everywhere I went.

There’s something friendly, familiar, and comforting about libraries and book stores too.  There’s this smell and feel to them.  If you’re a book person, you know what I mean.  The digital age is upon us though and these are places that I visit less now.  There just isn’t enough physical space to keep all of the books I want to have so eBooks have entered my world in a big way.

I started with the Kindle and Nook apps on my Android phone but the tiny screen wasn’t good for reading for long periods of time.  With saved up gift cards (thanks to attendance awards at work), I got my Kindle Fire HD.  There’s this amazing thing to digital books.  I love being able to get a new one anytime no matter where I am (as long as I have a wi-fi connection anyway) and carrying a huge library of books with me everywhere.  The trend for eBooks has also allowed a huge number of independent authors to self-publish in a very economical way.  I’ve found some really good reads from independent authors and maybe, just maybe, I will be brave enough to join them.

But, however you read, I just encourage you to do it.  No matter what genre it is or even if it’s graphic novels.  And, if you’re a parent, definitely read with your kids.  They’ll thank you for it when they’re grown.  I am very grateful to my mom for that gift that will last my lifetime.

Thanks for reading my ramblings today!  On the book front, Amazon has a lot of books on their Daily Deal today.  They usually offer four books including a regular Daily Deal, a romance Daily Deal, a Sci-Fi & Fantasy Daily Deal, and a Teens Daily Deal.  Today, in addition to the other three, the regular Daily Deal is actually a pretty long list of some of their most popular titles for $2.99 or less.  It’s for the anniversary of the Daily Deals.  It’s worth checking to see if that book you’ve always wanted to read is on sale.  I found Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones.  I love the movie and didn’t realize it was based on a book.  I’m looking forward to reading it.  Maybe you’ll find a happy surprise too!

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend filled with happy things!

5 thoughts on “Can You Tell I Love Books?

  1. I understand your love of books. I always loved reading and still do, it takes you to a different world. I loved reading my Mom’s Readers Digest Condensed books she had when I was young. I give my Mom all the credit too. You should give writing a try I think you would excel at it.

  2. I got Howl’s Moving Castle from an Amazon Daily Deal a while back for the same reason. (Also kicked myself for not telling everyone I know who love the movie about it.) I also happened to get to watch the movie at a local art cinema not long ago. Thankfully it was distant enough I was not judging differences between the two too much.

    Reading helps me tune out the world. So I can be alone even in a crowd.

  3. Nice post! It’s so important to read widely and often–whether or not you’re reading “real books”, eBooks, listening to audiobooks–it really doesn’t matter as long as you’re enjoying books! And you’re right–parents definitely set the stage to create a reader!

Comments are closed.