Four Decades & a Lich King

My four day weekend started today (the second one in a row).  In addition to my usual Friday, Saturday, Sunday off I took Monday as a vacation day.  It’s somewhat of a tradition for me to schedule my birthday off even if it falls in the middle of a week.  That’s right, it’s my birthday on Monday.  I don’t exactly know how I feel about it.  I’m turning 40 this year and it doesn’t really feel like anything major is about to happen.  I’m still a big kid with my games and my dolls.  I just don’t feel like I’m that… old.  I always thought that I’d feel different at this age but I really don’t.  

But I’m going to have fun with it.  There are a lot of places where you can get birthday coupons.  Most are restaurants but I get discount coupons from some of the online stores I shop from too.  There’s a great list of some of the birthday freebies you can sign up for.  Click here.  I did find that a few programs have ended but some of them are very active and very good!  A few of my favorites are Dairy Queen, Famous Dave’s, IHOP, and Medieval Times.  I’ve printed my coupons and I’m ready to get some discounts and free food and treats!  

I’m planning to check out Riddick on the big screen.  I get to see my family on Sunday.  And tomorrow I’m running my usual Dungeons & Dragons game.  We’ll splurge on my favorite Chinese food from Gen Hoe on Saturday too.  We usually reserve it for special occasions.  I love the sweet and sour chicken.  If you ask my husband, he’ll tell you to try the egg rolls.  

I finished reading World of Warcraft: Arthas: Rise of the Lich King by Christie Golden yesterday.  My final verdict is that this is a must read for any World of Warcraft fan.  It covers the life of Arthas from his youth up to becoming the Lich King.  There are so many important lore events involved in this book that it’s something anyone interested in the back story of the world would enjoy.  I must say though, that there is a bit of similarity between Arthas and Anakin Skywalker’s fall in Star Wars.  But then that could be said of other stories as well.  The book is well written and brings to life many characters that are only mentioned in the game because they died so long ago in the history of the world.  Then there are those that we see every day in the game and some we have fought.  I particularly enjoy the parts about Sylvanas Windrunner.  I’ve been playing World of Warcraft since the Burning Crusade so I remember the launch of the Wrath of the Lich King expansion.  If you were there too, you’ll especially appreciate the end of this book.  I thought it was very well done.  

There are several great-looking MMORPGs that I have been anticipating and even hoping to have a look at.  Sadly, I’ll be taking a pass on all three of these.  It includes Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn, Elder Scrolls Online, and Wildstar.  Final Fantasy has been released and the other two are highly anticipated.  But all three have chosen a subscription model over the currently popular free-to-play models.  So, if you want to play any of these,  you’ll have to buy the game and a monthly subscription.  In addition, they will be selling other stuff through cash stores.  While this model has worked and does work for World of Warcraft, it’s well worth noting that the game released at a time when the free-to-play model was unheard of.  It’s a proven game with millions of players.  Yet, I do believe they too will eventually embrace a free-to-play option for the game.  Even if you still must by the game initially.  In any case, I’m a WoW girl and I can’t afford more subscriptions so I’ll see these games when (if) they go free-to-play.  

Speaking of WoW though.  If you haven’t seen it, check out the trailer for the Siege of Orgrimmar patch which goes live on September 10.  It’s amazing!  They really went all out on this one.  After watching it, I hate Garrosh even more.  I can’t wait to kill him even if it’s only in an LFR raid.  

Those are my rants for this week!  I apologize for missing last week.  I actually spent the weekend a congested mucous monster.  But I’m feeling more human now and even successfully had dairy yesterday without losing the ability to breathe.  Yay me!  

Have a great weekend my friends!  Loktar! 

 

