A Worthy Project

If you’ve been reading my blog you already know I love computer games.  My first MMORPG was actually City of Heroes.  I had previously declared I would never pay a monthly fee to play a game but a friend bought a copy for my husband-to-be and I instantly fell in love with the game.  Later I would play World of Warcraft and other games but City of Heroes was different.

I hadn’t played the game in quite a long while when word came that NCSoft was shutting it down for good.  It was a decision that made little sense to anyone and even less sensible was their refusal to sell the game to anyone.  It left the players who had formed a community there feeling a bit lost.  Even though I wasn’t playing actively, I had many characters and many fond memories.  It was sad to hear of its demise.  But there’s hope!

Missing Worlds Media is bringing to life a spiritual successor to the game.  It’s called City of Titans.  There are similarities in that it’s a super hero (and villain) game taking place in a modern setting.  If you’re a fan of superheroes or comics and you enjoy a good MMORPG, I recommend taking a look at this one.  They have a Kickstarter project going right now with 31 days to go.  I think they can do it but they’ll need help from a lot of friends to get there.  So, check out their Kickstarter page and read up on it, watch the video, check out the perks.  I’ll bet you’re tempted to pledge.  I know I am seriously thinking about it.

http://cityoftitans.com/

 

