NaNoWriMo!

It’s so fun to say it and I’m looking forward to participating in it!  NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month.  I only found out about this wonderful event a few days ago thanks to a post by the moderator on Anne McCaffrey’s Facebook page.  I clicked the link to find out more and signed up immediately!  You can read all about it at https://nanowrimo.org where you can sign up and get in on the fun.

So, what do I think is so great about this?  Well, it’s a self challenge to write 50,000 words of a novel in just one month.   It starts November 1.

It comes down to setting goals and working towards them with determination.  I’ve already located the nearby Home Region group and found that I am very lucky to live where I do.  With NIU nearby, there are many determined writers.  Although I will likely be one of the oldest in the group, they sound like a friendly bunch and I’m sure I’ll get on just fine.  The hardest thing for me was to decide on what I am going to write.  But I did a bit of brainstorming today and I have my novel idea scribbled down.  It’s difficult now to wait for Friday to start actually writing!

Post in the comments if you’re participating too.  I’d love to hear from seasoned and new participants.  As a complete newbie I am presently devouring the forum posts to learn as much as possible before November 1.  I look forward to meeting some new people and getting to work on this novel!

 

