Happy New Year!

The new year has started with a lot of snow, a beautiful Rose Bowl parade on TV, pancakes for breakfast, and lasagna for supper.  (Well, we’re just now starting to cook the lasagna.)  For me, I’m glad that I had nowhere to be today because I could watch the snow falling and laugh at the dogs coming in covered in it.

It’s generally said that this is a fresh start.  We can mentally leave the past year behind and resolve to do things differently in the year to ahead.  I don’t normally make new year’s resolutions.  I find that it’s something that doesn’t usually come to pass.  But, it is a time to reflect on what I would like to accomplish and make a promise to myself to at least try.  But the goals do need to be reasonable.  So why not make some goals along with me.  I’ll share what I would like to do (in no particular order) and, if you feel so inclined, share your goals in the comments.  I’d love to hear from you.

  • Get published: This goal is a long-time dream that is so close I can see it coming to pass.  My goal had been to finish my NaNoWriMo novel first draft by the end of December but it fell to the wayside because of other distractions including the holidays.  So the new goal is to have that first draft before the end of January and in the hands of my first reader.  I want to have it published, even if that means self-publishing.  There are so many independent, self-published authors now and it’s very easy to do.  I can definitely do this.
  • Write another novel: As soon as my 2013 NaNo novel has a final draft, it’s time to start the next one.
  • Make some changes for my health: This is general because there are so many things that could be done.  Of primary importance to me is to learn more about foods, especially those that can naturally alleviate health concerns like cholesterol, blood pressure, and more.  That learning then needs to be used to make gradual changes to our eating habits.
  • Get back to writing a weekly blog post!  I’m thinking of moving my posting day to Sunday.
So those are my goals.  I’ll keep you apprised of my progress and the new things that I learn as I go.  I’ve already started with the food learning.  I get regular pain in my back and leg from inflammation in my spine.  I started reading up on foods that are attributed to reducing inflammation with the goal of eventually having less pain without medication.  What I’ve learned is interesting and I’ll share more when I’ve read more.  I’ll have more product reviews for you and sneak peeks into my writing plus more.
I’m off to help assemble the lasagna.  I hope you’ve all had a wonderful holiday season and that you have a happy, healthy, and prosperous new year.  I’ll be back on Sunday!
