NaNoWriMo Day 4

National Novel Writing Month is well under way and I’m getting deeper into my novel project.  I decided that I’m approaching NaNo a bit differently than I did last year.  I have a plan for the entire novel that I am writing from and I have asked several friends and family members to be readers as I go.  I’m posting my work for them in a Google Drive folder so they can read and send me their feedback.  Of course this is all for content and not for actual proofreading.  That will come later.

My entire project is being written inside the Scrivener software.  As a winner last year, I got a great discount on it and I’ve been using it since last December.  I really like the way it allows me to have everything organized including linking documents, images, and websites for reference.  The fiction novel template even includes templates for character and setting notes.  If you’ve been debating the purchase, I definitely recommend it.

This year’s novel is a fantasy.  I know that’s a big surprise, right?  It’s the story of a young female half-elf, Naomi, who knows nothing of her own past as she travels with a small group of other adventurers.  It all starts with a mission for profit but turns into an epic quest to learn her past.  I’m really excited about this one and I’m looking forward to having a complete work.

I haven’t reached the decision of whether to submit for traditional publishing or to self publish but that’s something I don’t have to decide for a while yet.  First, I have to finish writing the novel!

Curious about the novel?  I’m including a couple of perks for those who donate to NaNo through my fund raising page.  All donors will receive a thank you email that includes the first two paragraphs of the first draft and donors of $25 or more will receive the first chapter once it receives it’s first edit.  NaNoWriMo is a great non-profit organization that brings the art of writing to so many people including into schools where budgets are so tight these days.  Your dollars will be well spent!  Just click the NaNo image below to go directly to my fund raising page.

Participant-2014-Web-Banner

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 4

  1. Using Google Drive to allow people to read your work is a great idea. My first draft beta reader is my husband, so I don’t need to use Google Drive for him, but it would be a very handy tool for expanding my first draft reading audience. Great advice! Good luck with NaNoWriMo this year!

    1. Thank you! I’m glad to hear I was able to help with an idea. I’m not usually comfortable with letting anyone read my work when it’s so raw but this year I decided I want more feedback. Thank you for reading my blog!

Comments are closed.