Road Trip for Writing

A few months ago I told you the story of how I won and booked a writing retreat.  At that time, it seemed to be very far off but today it is so close that it seems time has flown.  Tomorrow morning I will be packing up my car and heading east for Vermont and the When Words Count retreat.  I am incredibly excited and nervous at the same time.  With the time to leave so close, I wonder how strongly nerves will affect me tomorrow.  Although this isn’t my first road trip, it is the first time I will be traveling alone.  As a woman, I am conditioned to believe that it isn’t safe for me to travel alone in this way.  As a person who has anxiety issues I’m even less inclined to make a solo trip.  But I am determined to do this.

I don’t have anything to prove to anyone else.  This is for me.  I want to prove to myself that I can do this, that I can be independent.  I think this trip will help me grow as a person by helping to banish some of my fears.  It’s also an opportunity for me to do something that is completely for myself and for no one else.  When I read those words, it sounds a little selfish and maybe it is but I think that a person has to take care of one’s self in order to be effective at taking care of others.  I spend much of my time taking care of others or worrying about them.  So I’m allowing myself this one week to myself and my writing.  I hope to find some freedom in it and to be very productive too.

This is so exciting!  I can’t wait to get on the road tomorrow!  I’ll update soon!

