New Year New Books

Happy New Year! I know we’re 12 days in but this is my first post of the new year. Like many other people I started the new year by thinking about what I didn’t accomplish in 2015 and then I turned my focus to the year ahead. There’s all of the usual talk about resolutions but I’ve decided to take up a different tradition, goals. That is, setting specific attainable goals. To that end, I’m returning to my roots in at least one thing. I’ve ordered a physical planner for 2016. I’ll still be using my Google calendar since I like having it with me on my phone everywhere but it’s never had the tangible realness that a paper planner has. I’m looking forward to its arrival so I can put it to work.

One of my goals for the year is to read at least one book each month. That means less meaningless time wasters like mobile games. It’s a good thing. With my tablet and smartphone I can read pretty much anywhere and there are quite a lot of unread books in my Kindle collection. I also have quite a lot of unread physical books in my house. I can’t run out of things to read.

51i90eher3l-_sx326_bo1204203200_I started the year part way through Char by Dale Cozort which I mentioned in a previous post. I’ve finished the book and I’m glad for having read it. In the interest of full disclosure, I know the author personally. He’s a member of my NaNoWriMo writing group. Because of this, I’m not going to do a full review of his book. But I will say, quite honestly, that I enjoyed the story and it kept me turning pages to see what was going to come next. The book’s main character, Char of the Real People, is a primitive woman out of place in the modern world and suspected of murder. She has to learn about modern society and avoid the police while sorting out friends and enemies. So, if you’re looking for a new novel that isn’t your typical murder mystery, check this one out. You can find more novels by Dale Cozort on Amazon as well

c1us9lafoxs-_sl250_I’ve just started reading Empire of Bones by Terry Mixon. This one is set solidly in a science fiction universe. Since I’m just getting into it, I can’t say much more but I like what I’ve seen so far. I’m a fan of Terry Mixon from listening to the Dead Robots Society podcast. I highly recommend the podcast for indie writers. The guys can be a little raw sometimes but they have differing opinions and I like hearing their individual takes on the world of independent writing. I have the next two Empire of Bones novels waiting for me to read as well. The fourth novel has just recently been released and he has other novels independent of this series.

I also have a great freebie for you. Google Play has a list of music deals including some free Elvis! Listening to Elvis always makes me nostalgic for my childhood.

I hope 2016 is starting out well for you. It was bumpy for me to start but I’m making the best of it. I can choose to have a better year and that’s exactly what I’m doing.

