Movie Review: Batman V. Superman

Despite the negative reviews, my husband and I went to see Batman V. Superman: Dawn of Justice today. I am so glad that we did.

We went in with pretty low expectations. I had seen all of the trailers and read or heard some reviews. I had acquaintances that had seen the film as well. There were a lot of opinions going around. But I had to see for myself.

Let’s start with the biggest controversy from the beginning, the casting of Ben Affleck as Batman/Bruce Wayne. He was a great choice! Consider that Batman has been fighting crime in Gotham for something like 20 years when this film takes place. He’s already faced villains like the Joker although we don’t see that happen in this movie. It’s understood. Batman is a grizzled veteran superhero by this time. So he isn’t the billionaire playboy anymore. He’s been through a lot. Affleck portrays all of this very well. I enjoyed his performance very much.

No matter what you think of Man of Steel, Henry Cavill definitely looks the part of Superman. In Batman V. Superman, we get to see how he is really a flawed mortal just like everyone else. He isn’t perfect. And he has something to learn from someone like Batman. He’s still pretty new to the superhero thing. It’s gone to his head a bit. I liked that his flaws were shown a bit here. It was a good performance.

Let’s talk about the ladies. Amy Adams comes back as Lois Lane. I like her as an actor and I like this Lois Lane very much. She isn’t as  much a damsel in distress and takes things into her own hands. Although she does need rescuing. But I like her nonetheless.

bvs_ww_wpwBut Gal Gadot’s Wonder Woman/Diana Prince! She’s stunning! When she appeared on-screen as Diana Prince, I was so excited to see her. And waiting through most of the film for her to literally drop in as Wonder Woman to rescue the men was totally worth it. Wonder Woman is just as powerful as you would expect her to be. I don’t want to spoil any of the excitement. If you haven’t seen it yet, you should go! What are you waiting for! I can’t wait for the Wonder Woman movie to release next year.

Finally, there’s Lex Luthor. He’s the iconic Superman villain and I was a little worried about how Jesse Eisenberg was going to do. He isn’t my favorite incarnation of the character (that goes to Kevin Spacey) but he was good. His character has a history which is revealed to us through  bits of information and gives authenticity to him.

So, what’s the verdict? If you haven’t guessed, I loved the movie. The first half is a lot of set up but I felt it was very necessary to set the stage for the characters and for the upcoming Justice League movies. There’s a lot of really good stuff here. I honestly don’t understand the negative reviews at all. The movie was fun. The characters were developed. The climax and the battle were exciting. I’m looking forward to see the movies that DC puts out next. This one was well worth the price of our movie tickets.

bvs_faceoff_wpw

