Movie Review: Warcraft

If you’ve read anything about the Warcraft movie, you’ve probably seen that the critics have not liked it. There’s a good reason for that. This movie wasn’t made for the critics. It was made for fans of Warcraft and fans of fantasy in general. That generally isn’t going to be the critics. Warcraft isn’t making a statement about anything. It’s just plan fun.

I made sure to get out to see Warcraft on opening weekend and I do plan to see it again. The first time, I just sat back and enjoyed the story. Next time I’ll be watching for all of the little things I  missed. I did the same for Star Wars: The Force Awakens. So yes, that does mean I thoroughly enjoyed the movie. It was everything I had hoped for and more.

I’ve played World of Warcraft since it’s first expansion, The Burning Crusade, was released. So I’m very well versed with the lore of the world and I did watch the movie through that perspective. But, I’m certain that even if you haven’t played World of Warcraft or any of the Warcraft RTS (real-time strategy) games, you can still enjoy the Warcraft movie.

The world of the movie is so well-crafted it felt real and alive. I know in my head that the orcs were computer animated but they were so real on screen that I could believe they were living flesh and blood people. The environments are realistic because they built them to be that way. The smallest details were crafted with care to be authentic to the world they came from. The world I’ve played in for so many years came to life before me in a way that I could never have expected. It was glorious. I’m so happy that they made this film so that we can share the world of Azeroth and its personalities with everyone who has never visited it before. Maybe some will even come and play in our world with us. Some theaters are giving away the game for free!

 

thumb-image19Do you love fantasy worlds? If you say yes then I strongly recommend seeing Warcraft while it’s still in theaters. Don’t miss out seeing it on the big screen. If you can do it, see it in 3D as well. It was beautifully done and not the cheesy “ooh this is in your face” 3D.

thumb-image4Welcome to Azeroth all of you who haven’t been there before. I hope you love it as much as I do.

wcmt02

One thought on “Movie Review: Warcraft

Comments are closed.