Writers’ Resources for Tuesday June 28

We made it to Tuesday. I consider that a win. I have a day off from the day job (took a vacation day really) to take hubby to his appointments. I’ll have plenty of time to spend on writerly tasks too. Yay! That’ll be a win. I’ve learned some important lessons about writing. They seem obvious but unless you really focus on them and make them real in your life, they just stay a thing that you “know.”

  • Make time to write. Even if it’s only 10 minutes. I work 10 hour days and with our new office location, I’m gone from the house from 7:30 AM until 9:20 PM. So, my mornings start with me grabbing my breakfast shake and coming back to my computer. I spend anywhere from 15 to 45 minutes writing. Why am I telling you this? Because it’s important to know that any time spent writing is necessary if you’re a writer. Every day you must touch your craft in some way. On a break spend time reading books about writing on a tablet or smartphone (I have a couple more for you today). In the car I listen to podcasts about writing and other topics. You could also listen to audio books either about writing or in the genre you write. Consider how you can work in writerly activities throughout your own day. What works for you? Share your ideas in the comments.
  • Ignore the distractions. This one is actually much harder than the first. There’s Facebook, email, TV shows, Netflix, video games, and on and on. The LED is blinking on the smartphone. What could that be? Don’t do it! Turn it over so you can’t see it. Once you touch it, you’ll be lost in that world and the writing doesn’t get done. Leave it for after you’ve done your writing. Prioritize your writing first. Every day.

I hope those thoughts are helpful for you! And now…

Freebies!

51xod97tv7l

