Ding! Level 43!

It strikes me that celebrating your birthday is a strange thing to do. After all, I didn’t have anything to do with my own birth aside from managing to survive it. But I think the birthday could be something truly significant. So I’ve been reflecting on what the day really means to me. I’ve already decided that I’m no longer getting older. I’m leveling up. I’ve gained enough experience to achieve another level as a human. So I think my birthday is a good time to look back at what I’ve actually learned in the last 12 months.

This time last year, I had just wrapped up several months as interim supervisor for my team at work. What does that mean? Well, I was filling in as supervisor until a permanent replacement was selected. I had learned a lot and the thing I gained most from the experience was reaffirmation that being a supervisor in my company is not the job for me. Although I enjoy coaching people to success, there are a number of other tasks which I do not enjoy and which even make the job more stressful and unpleasant in the long run. It had been a good experience and a valuable one. But the job isn’t for me in the long term.

The last 12 months has been a lot about my husband as he went through a life-changing procedure. I’ve learned a lot about food as a result. There have been a lot of different food periods in our house. At this stage, I’ve stopped buying loaves of bread and replaced it with whole grain wheat, low carb tortillas. I’ve tried and abandoned smoothies, added spinach to my diet more than once though it hasn’t stuck, and tried a myriad of other things. Food is part of life and diets don’t work. So I’m continuing to try new things and make small changes.

I was working on learning Italian but that fell by the wayside. I signed up for, and even started, a number of free online courses but didn’t complete most of them.

On the upside, part of the reason for abandoning the classes is because I started a new novel with NaNoWriMo in November and was well involved in the story. Although, I pretty much tossed aside the entire manuscript from November and I’ve been rewriting the whole thing. The new version is much better. I’ve spent a lot of time working on the business of writing and learned a lot from podcasts and books as well as studying what other indie writers are doing. I feel like I’ve learned a lot but I have a lot more to learn. I launched my Facebook page and my Patreon page. And I’ve focused my blog mainly on writing specific posts. I didn’t make my goal of finishing the novel before my birthday but I’m still working and it will get done. It will be published.

I learned, fairly recently, to let it go when I can’t help someone. Sometimes, no matter how much you love a person and want to help them, you can’t. They have to decide to help themselves. This was a difficult lesson and a long time coming. I’m broken-hearted but it’s just the way of things.

I’ve learned a lot over the last 12 months. I haven’t accomplished everything I set out to do. But I feel good about decisions that I have made. I’m on the path to my goals. Not too shabby.

Ding! Leveled up!

 

