Book Review: Daemons of Garaaga by Paul E. Cooley

The first draft of my work-in-progress (working title Oriana) is finished and I’m working away at the first edit. There’s a lot of work to be done. I knew it was rough but as I’m reading through what I wrote, I’m seeing just how rough it is. Wow. I have so much work to do. It’s taking longer than I expected but I will get there!

All writers must read. How can we know what we like if we don’t? If you’re wondering what I’m reading, you can check it out on Goodreads anytime.

51uolqoba8l-_sx329_bo1204203200_

Daemons of Garaaga

By Paul E. Cooley

Genre: Mythology & Folktales

 

Daemons of Garaaga is a collection of three connected tales touching on the lives of three generations of the half-demon children of the entity called Garaaga. This book is difficult to fit into a specific genre because of the themes and setting but the author’s selection of Mythology & Folktales for Amazon.com is quite appropriate.

Each of the three tales takes place in a different era (1940 BCE, 1820 BCE, and 1770 BCE) in the cities of Ur and Babylon. The author uses flashbacks to good effect for providing the backstory and history of the main characters. The flashbacks aren’t intrusive. I enjoyed the way they gave more depth to the characters and their actions.

The locations are vivid without spending too much time on description. I had a clear view of the environment throughout the stories which added to the overall feeling of being in this ancient time and the savage and beautiful children of Garaaga.

It’s important to note that this book is not appropriate for younger readers. This isn’t your typical mythology. The stories are dark and violent. There is violence against women although this is not gratuitous in any way. The characters are sexual beings that derive their power through sexual acts. So keep these facts in mind if you’re thinking about reading it. I don’t want to drive anyone away from the book; I quite enjoyed it myself. But it’s important to understand these things before beginning.

If the warnings I mentioned aren’t an issue for you, then I would recommend that you give Daemons of Garaaga a try. I’m certainly adding the remaining two books to my to-read list.

 

